top of page


The annual Diode Editions book & chapbook contests are open through July 15, 2024. Winners of the 2024 contests are to be announced by August 1, 2024. The press may select more than one book & chapbook for publication.


The Diode Editions Book & Chapbook contests are open to all poets who write in English. Patty Paine, Editor in Chief of Diode Editions & diode poetry journal welcomes collaborations and accepts simultaneous submissions.

Full guidelines are posted herein during contest periods.


Contest Winners



Full-length Book Prize Winners

all children., Shabnam Piryaei

No Rest, Jason Koo

Chapbook Prize Winners

Difficult, Rewa Zeinati

BOOT-less →, Trace DePass

Dancing Backwards Towards Pluperfect, Koss

Full-length Book Prize Finalists

Ofrenda, Anaïs Deal-Márquez


Book Content to Breathe Inside the Tree, Patrick Lawler 

Between the Sun and The Moon, Xiaoly Li

Slowly Our Faces Come Into View, Lea Marshall

Devil Music, Charlie Clark 


Chapbook Prize Finalists

Occurrence of a Dream Translated by Animals, M. Cynthia Cheung

Dreams of Labrador, Christopher Brean Murray

My Abandoned Poems, Owen McLeod

Frankie's Daughter, Haro Lee

DIDA, Karan Kapoor

The Mariachi at the End of Time, Christopher Nelson

Landscape for the Lost, Aiden Heung

Beneath Salt, Anna Tomlinson

Tapestry, Kirun Kapur 


Full-length Book Prize Winners

The Badass Brontës, Jane Satterfield 

A Glossary of Light and Shadow, Esther Ra

The Corrected Version, Rosanna Oh

Chapbook Prize Winners

#stringofbeads, Lee Ann Roripaugh

Self-Portrait in Hospital as Camus, Schneider K. Rancy

Full-length Book Prize Finalists

Little Iliads, Jean Gallagher

Visitation, Steven Gehrke

Grappling, Eddie Kim

Some Animal, Fay Dillof

Boneyard Heresies, Tina Schumann

Happy Poems & Other Lies, Jeddie Sophronius

The Alcestis Machine, Carolyn Oliver

ENSŌ CAROUSEL, Partridge Boswell


Noctuary, Taylor Supplee


Chapbook Prize Finalists

Mediaeval Sentences, Kathleen Winter

The Bent Resemblant, Paula Cisewski

On Night, Christopher Nelson


said the Frog to the Scorpion, Matthew E. Henry

In Arcadia, Craig Beaven

Smelling Static, Steffan Triplett

Prerecorded Weather, Noah Falck & Matt McBride


Full-length Book Prize

Night Swim, Joan Kwon Glass

Yearn, Rage Hezekiah

Mouth, Sugar, and Smoke, Eric Tran

Chapbook Prize

She Has Dreamt Again of Water, Stephanie Niu

Of the Florids, Shawn Hoo

Sandman, Huan He

Cancer Voodoo, Melissa Johnson


Full-length Book Prize

Where the Wolf, Sally Rosen Kindred

The Enemy of My Enemy Is Me, Conor Bracken

GHETTOCLAUSTROPHOBIA: Dreamin of Mama While Trying to Speak Woman in Woke Tongues, Shanta Lee Gander

Chapbook Prize

Faraway Places, Teow Lim Goh
Low Budget Movie, Kendra DeColo & Tyler Mills
Special Delivery, Natasha Sajé
Body Facts, Joey S. Kim
Slash / Slash, Amorak Huey & W. Todd Kaneko


Full-length Book Prize

Wider than the Sky, Nancy Chen Long

The Minister of Disturbances, Zeeshan Khan Pathan

Chapbook Prize

The Last Human Heart, Allison Joseph

Good Timing & Gertrude Stein: Inside Snoopy's snout maggots feast upon my blood, Julia Cohen


Full-length Book Prize

Revenge of the Asian Woman, Dorothy Chan

American Samizdat, Jehanne Dubrow

We Call Them Beautiful, KC Trommer

Chapbook Prize

Returning to Jaffa, Philip Metres

Smoke Girl, Simone Person


Full-length Book Prize

Go Because I Love You, Jared Harél 

the empty season, Catherine Bresner

Chapbook Prize

Our Lady of the Flood, Alison Pelegrin

Red//Jild//Prayer, Hazem Fahmy 

Adoption, Adam Falkner


Full-length Book Prize

Starlight & Error, Remica Bingham-Risher

quitter, Paula Cisewski

Chapbook Prize

Rare Birds, Shelley Wong

Requiem: A Patrimony of Fugues, Tina Schumann

For Filthy Women Who Worry About Disappointing God, Seema Yasmin


Chapbook Prize

Straight, sam sax

The Goddess Monologues, Vandana Khanna


Chapbook Prize

Bright Power, Dark Peace, Traci Brimhall & Brynn Saito

bottom of page